Halloween Bunny (what? It isn’t October?)

bunny1

bunny2

Charlie loves bunnies. Loves, loves, loves them. She has a particular bunny, who we affectionately call “Stinky Bunny”, who does not leave her side. Ever. I even bought a back up, just in case SB goes missing and we have a nap/daycare/grocery store/arboretum/playdate emergency. It made perfect sense that Charlie would be a Bunny for her first “real” Halloween where she would be trick-or-treating. Unfortunately, I was out of town teaching at Knitting Lab, so I wanted to make sure her costume was home-made so I could be there in spirit.

Armed with some grey fleece, I whipped up another Envelope Tee (I had previously made one, so I knew it would be an easy sew) and a slim leg BBBP. For the hat, I used Alicia Paulson’s Storybook Woods Baby Cap pattern and drafted my own ears, using her bunny as a model. The whole set took only a few evenings, and we all loved the end result. She still wears the hat as her winter hat, and if I’m not mistaken, she had the pants on today, so all pieces of the outfit have gotten good wear beyond Halloween. I wish we got more photos, but it was all Owen could do to keep track of his little sugar-filled bunny as she hopped from house to house!

• Pattern(s): Envelope Tee from Growing Up Sew Liberated by Meg McEwlee / Big Butt Baby Pants by Rae Hoekstra / Storybook Woods Baby Cap by Alicia Paulson
• Fabric: Grey + neon pink fleece from Joann’s
• Size: 18 mos
• Date: October 2013

Leave a Reply

